Talking makes it hurt

  

   So, I went to a new Doctor. A Pain Management Doctor. I can’t remember his name although I probably shouldn’t post it publicly anyway.

   We talked a lot about my fibromyalgia. He seemed to know a lot about it too. Which was impressive to me. I don’t know why but it was.

   He added another med to my list of meds. I feel like a junior pharmacy at this point. Haha. But I will give him credit on it because I can tell the difference at this point.

   It has helped a lot with my everyday life. Not so much with the stairs though. They are still hard for me. At least at this  point they are.

   I actually had to scoot down them last night because my bones in my legs hurt too much to come down on my feet like a normal person. Almost like my bones were splitting or breaking. So I said forget this and scooted down on my rear. Thank God I was at home 🙂 Hopefully in time that gets better.

   Anyway back to why I was writing. So talking to my new Doc seemed great untill the end. He had said some stupid  and contradicting things.

   First he asked if I have joined any fibro groups. I said yes on Facebook. He says they sound just like you right? In the way you feel? I said oh yes, for sure. He had said that it’s good that I joined the groups.

   I said I also started a blog to talk and vent. I know my family has to be sick of hearing about it.

   He then says that I shouldn’t talk about it. That the more I talk about it the more it will hurt. It seemed he don’t think my blogging is a good idea.

   He then gave me a story about when he was a kid and basically said every time he tells the story it hurts. Which I get that, but that’s your feelings. Not actual pain.

   I talk because im already in pain and because I read thing’s or trying to learn about my disease. Things like that. Also because it helps me mentally to talk about it. I’d be worse off if I didn’t talk. I don’t know, maybe im different.

   He also said he is referring me to a psychiatrist because he thinks I need to accept it, that i have fibromyalgia and once I accept it, that it wont hurt as bad.

   I don’t know why he thinks I havn’t accepted it. Whatever. And it wont hurt as bad. What?? Also contradicts his don’t talk about it thing because that’s what I’d be doing there. Duh Doc. Whatever.

   I don’t know. I guess I’ll have to play the game to get relief from this stupid disease. Hopefully the shrink does really help me. We will see. Update on shrink to come:)

20 Replies to “Talking makes it hurt”

  1. I don’t know if you are taking the following, but my husband takes it for back and leg pain from Spinal Stenosis. You can read about it here. Gabapentin for chronic neuropathic pain and fibromyalgia …
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov › Home › For Consumers
    Gabapentin for chronic neuropathic pain and fibromyalgia in adults. This version published: 2015; Review content assessed as up-to-date: March 17, 2014.
    Speak to you MD about it. If you do take it I hope it helps you as much as it has helped my hubby. Good Luck. ☺

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Those are weird things your dr said! I can kind of see what he is saying though, in the sense that, okay, for me, if I’m going about my business, i just keep going and I can do what is in front of me that has to be done. If I stop and think…does it hurt? I will notice the pain more. It was always there, I was just able to work through it and not notice it as much.
    So maybe he’s saying if you stop talking about it and thinking about it you’ll be able to cope better?
    I don’t know what the best thing to do is, but I do feel better when I’m busy, when I can be busy. You know what I mean, I’m sure!
    By the way, I’m not diagnosed with fibro. I have depression and anxiety. The pain was so bad, I was convinced I had fibro too. My mom and my aunt both have it, so it seemed to fit. The pain is much better now but if I have a stressful episode or something triggers it, the pain comes back.
    Jo-Ann

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I mean I kinda get what he’s saying but I guess why I felt confused about it is it really doesnt fit me. I think he thinks all i do is lay in bed and complain or something. Like Im not living life but it’s the complete opposite

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello. I have multiple sclerosis and I know that medical marijuana is very useful for the pain that we have. Is there any research with fibromyalgia? Even if medical marijuana is not legal in your state, you can find a compounding pharmacy that can make the oil. I’m expert, but I know it’s available.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My only drawback with the oil is the occupational therapist to recommend it to me said that it smells just like marijuana. I certainly don’t want to walk around smelling like that! But it’s certainly something to keep in the back of my mind.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I think that is the funniest thing I’ve heard. Don’t be too hard on the doc, trying to give you some ‘suggestion’ although, how dense??? The shrink is a good idea. I really liked mine. Plus, they ‘get’ chronic pain and what it does to you physically, mentally, and emotionally. IF you don’t click with the first one, try another! I think you’ll gain some real insights and share, p​lease!!! ~Kim (Re-posting on Stone in the Road.)

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hi! My name’s Trisy. Glad I stumbled on your blog…I’m a FIBRO FIGHTER too, was diagnosed 7 years ago. I think fibro is different for everyone and it’s so hard to understand for people who don’t have it so I can forgive the doc for making the suggestion. HOWEVER, for me..talking about it helps! Either way, I think you need to do whatever makes you feel better! Good post, thanks!😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think we all are facing the same run a round. I didn’t know, and Drs. never told me, that my migraines could be from FM. After 20 years suffering, and seeing many different Drs. WHY didn’t someone tell me that???

    Liked by 1 person

      1. We only have 2 or 3 RA drs in desert. Been through all…anyway, I’m not going to think about this….I am in such a good mood about the giveaway, I don’t want to have any negative thoughts or angry feelings. They are wasted.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

